Databases

Select a category below to refine your search.

A to Z Food America

From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.

A to Z World Culture

A to Z World Culture comprises 175 country Culture Guides of 61 data categories each – in-depth coverage on a rich array of cultural topics.

A to Z World Food

A comprehensive database of food, food culture, and traditional recipes for 174 countries. Included are 1,700+ food culture articles, 7,000+ traditional recipes, 500 ingredient articles, and glossaries.

A to Z World Travel

AtoZ Travel contains over 200 world city travel guides which include maps, photos, restaurant and shopping guides as well as general city information.

African American Experience

The African American experience encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination.

American History

Middle school students and high school researchers need more than a timeline of what happened in our nation’s history. They need a deeper understanding of America’s complex story—its precontact origins, westward expansion, social movements, internal conflicts, and contemporary defining moments—to grasp the significance of what’s going on around them today.

Ancestry Library Edition

Billions of genealogical records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Audio Book Cloud

A streaming audio book collection that includes dozens of genres and all interest levels. The collection includes popular literature classics, juvenile/teen titles, mystery, sci-fi, history, biography, and more.

Brainfuse: JobNow

JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.

Britanica Academic

Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Britannica Escolar

Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Britannica School

A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels–elementary, middle, and high.

Business Insights: Essentials

Today’s business researchers demand instant access to reliable, comprehensive data and the tools to analyze and interpret the information. Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Students, business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.

Career Cruising

Interactive career guide featuring multimedia interviews with real people in every career, in-depth occupational profiles and information on colleges and universities.

Certification Matters

Check to see if your doctor is certified. Unlimited access (no registration/barcode needed) when used within the library. There is a limit of 25 searches a day when used outside of the library.

Comics Plus – Full Edition

READ ALL THE COMICS!

You have unlimited access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than one hundred publishers through your school or public library. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week—no holds or wait lists required.

Comics Plus – Teen/Kids Editions

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is the world’s largest nonprofit product-testing organization and has been helping subscribers find better, safer products for 80+ years. Consumer Reports accepts no outside advertising and no free test samples, and employs shoppers and experts to buy and test the products reviewed. In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.

Daily Life

One of the many challenges educators face today is finding ways to engage students’ imaginations and encourage them to apply critical thinking skills. By examining the details of daily life in past eras, what is often perceived as dry historical information is transformed into engaging material that reveals the true nature of what life was like before.

Explora: Educator Edition

Explora Educator’s Edition highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.

Explora: For Libraries

Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

FactCite

FactCite is a collection of databases for researchers in grades K-12. Subscribers can subscribe to one or more of the databases. Content is designed to encourage reading and support curriculum. Students and patrons love using FactCite for assignments and browsing.

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder assists users in discovering which online databases allow access to specific publications. Search by journal title, publisher, or subject. Barcode authentication required for in-house and remote access use.

Gale: Academic Onefile

Connect learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Gale: Academic Onefile Select

Gale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections.

Gale: Biography

Gale in Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world’s most influential people. It merges Gale’s authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Gale: Computer Science

Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.

Gale: Educator’s Reference-Complete

Gale OneFile: Educators Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

Gale: Elementary

Offers elementary children a safe place to find answers to their questions, practice research skills, and explore a broad range of subjects like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more.

Gale: General Onefile

Gale General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Gale: Health & Medicine

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Gale: Informe Académico

Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

Gale: Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is Gale’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. The database provides researchers with unbounding evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. (Part of the Gale Digital Archive).

Gale: Middle School

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale’s reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Gale: News

This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Gale: NYS Newspapers

A subset of Gale OneFile: News this database includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.

Gale: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, and is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Gale: Science

Gale in Context: Science is an engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Gale in Context: Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Gale: U.S. History

Gale in Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.

Gale: World History

Gale in Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today’s headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards.

Latino American Experience

Users can learn from a wealth of short biographies, videos, quotes, and authoritative primary source documents. The Idea Exchange section offers informative, scholarly essays on topics that are mainstays of community college and undergraduate assignments.

Lote4Kids

LOTE4Kids allows kids to learn a language and connect with books through the magic of storytelling.

Ms. Humblebee’s Academy

Bring a fun and interactive learning solution to children ages three to six in your school community. Miss Humblebee’s Academy brings education and fun together while providing schools and parents with the tools to measure a child’s progress.

Niche Academy: Patron Academy

Instructional video tutorials for digital library resources.

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 is a subset of the database used in NoveList. It does not include adult titles, except for a very limited number used in middle school curricula (e.g. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee). K-8 will search, browse, and make recommendations in the same way as NoveList.

NoveList K-8 Plus provides the addition of readable and curriculum-based nonfiction in the same way that NoveList Plus adds nonfiction to the NoveList database.

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource. In addition to the fiction database that NoveList has offered, NoveList Plus adds nonfiction to provide a complete solution for your readers. With NoveList Plus, you can find titles, articles, and lists for your fiction and nonfiction needs. NoveList Plus also included audiobooks information, including audiobook recommendations and audio samples.

NuWav: Legal Documents

The goal of NUWAV Legal Documents is to provide documents that meet the needs of the everyday citizen. Easily compose documents in categories like Business, Contracts, Landlord/Tenant disputes, Divorce and much more.

NY Newsday

Free access (no subscription/barcode needed) to the articles on Newsday.com only when accessed on a library computer. “Read Today’s Paper” link is not part of the subscription.

Overdrive

Gain access to over 3K popular magazines (both current and back issues).

ProCitizen: English

Use this database to prepare for the civics, reading, and writing portions of the US Naturalization Test. In English.

ProCitizen: Español

Use esta base de datos para prepararse para las partes de educacion civica, lectura, y escritura del Examen de Naturalizacion de los Estados Unidos. En Espanol.

Use this database to prepare for the civics, reading, and writing portions of the US Naturalization Test. In Spanish.

Pronunciator

Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.

ProQuest: HeritageQuest

A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

ProQuest: Historical NY Newsday

Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Long Island newspaper of record. Coverage runs from 1940 through 1985.

ProQuest: NY Newsday

Covers news from Long Island from 1985 onward.

ProQuest: NY Times Historical

ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles dating back to the nineteenth century. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

ProQuest: US Newsstream

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Teen Book Cloud

Delivers the genres teens want – fantasy, science fiction/dystopian, graphic novels, crime/mystery, thriller/horror, romance, drama & poetry, contemporary, and more – in a format that is both engaging and completely accessible on their smartphones and tablets. Formally known as TumbleBookCloud.

Tumble Book Library

TumbleBookLibrary Premium is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.

Tumble Math

A curated collection of the best-known and most highly regarded math picture books presented in the classic TumbleBook format (full animation and narration). Includes thousands of resources such as lesson plans and quizzes specifically written to address math standards.

Tutor.com

Live one-on-one help for elementary school, middle school, high school, and beginner college students as well as adult education students and those looking for career assistance (i.e. writing resumes and preparing for interviews)–available everyday from 2pm to 10pm. Skill Center available 24/7. Paid in part by the Co-Central Libraries.